South Korea opts for ship speed reduction and ECA

South Korea’s Ministry of Oceans and Fisheries began a “Vessel Speed Reduction Programme” in December 2019, in an effort to reduce fine dust from ships and protect the marine environment. The programme requires that ships will have their port fees lowered when they enter ports at a speed below 10 or 12 knots, depending on ship type. The speed reduction will apply from a distance of about 20 nautical miles from the ports.

In addition, the Ministry has announced that a new mandatory regional Emission Control Area (ECA) will be established around the following ports along the Korean coast with an effective date of 1 September 2020: Incheon; Pyeongtaek & Dangjin; Yeosu & Gwangyang; Busan; and Ulsan. All ships anchored or at a berth in these locations must use fuel oil with a sulphur content of max 0.10 per cent, or use approved equivalent arrangements. The ECA regulation is likely to be expanded on 1 January 2022, to cover all vessels when operating in designated

In this issue