AirClim staff member recieves EEB Environment Award

Christer Ågren, AirClim staff member for more than 30 years, has been awarded EEB’s prize “Twelve Stars for the Environment”. The award is given to “outstanding individuals who in different ways have made an exceptional contribution to the cause of environmental sustainability in Europe”.

“Christer’s enthusiasm and commitment continues unabated”, says EEB President Mikael Karlsson. “His fight today for further extending EU laws against air pollution, the Clean Air Package, is as important as his fight in the 1980s for laws against acid rain. Christer is a champion among champions in the environmental movement.”

The awards were presented on the occasion of the EEB’s 40th anniversary celebrations on 1 December 2014 at the BIP House of the Capital Region, Brussels.

The other recipients were nature conservation activist Corinna Cwielag from Germany, former environment commissioner Janez Potočnik from Slovenia and Marc Pallemaerts from Belgium, who received the award posthumously for his work to strengthen environmental law.

The winners have been selected by the EEB Board following an open nomination process and recommendations for nominees from the EEB Twelve Star Award Committee consisting of the EEB President, Vice-Presidents and Secretary General.

Read the entire rationale here:
Read more about the award and the other winners here:

In this issue