National emission ceilings breached by eleven countries

A report from the European Environment Agency (EEA) shows that in 2012 eleven countries breached at least one of their national emission ceilings (NEC). Nine member states - Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, Malta, Slovenia and Spain - exceeded their NEC for nitrogen oxides (NOx). Three countries – Denmark, Finland and Spain – exceeded the limit for ammonia (NH3), while only Luxembourg breached the ceiling for non-methane volatile organic compounds (NMVOC).

The data show that several countries have persistent problems meeting their national emission limits – for example, Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg and Spain breached their NOx ceilings in 2010, 2011 and 2012. Denmark and Finland have exceeded their NH3 ceilings for three years running.